String Art inspired by Douglas Adams

DIY String Art inspired by Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

I’ve been excitedly searching for DIY ideas to decorate my new room with since I’ll be moving back to San Francisco for college in less than a month. I have been seeing String Art and similar projects all over Pinterest lately, so I thought I would give it a try! My attempt at this DIY features a whale and a bowl of petunias inspired by two characters of my favorite book, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams.

Materials: Wood plaque (LINK), hammer and small nails, embroidery thread (LINK), and clear nail polish.

Methods:

  1. IMG_1606I lightly sketched the outline of my design onto
    the wood plaque. Simplicity is key when coming up with a string art design, so for inspiration I referenced coloring pages and other simple line drawings like this one.
  2. Using my sketch as a guide, I hammered nails into the wood so that they traced the outline of the design.IMG_1608
  3. I tied the embroidery thread in a small knot around a nail that was near the place I wanted to start wrapping first.  To better secure this knot, cover it with a drop of clear nail polish.
  4. I started wrapping the thread around the surrounding nails until the design “filled in” with the color of the threaIMG_1619d.
  5. When I was satisfied with the wrapped color, I secured the thread to another nail by tying a knot and covering the knot with the nail polish and cutting any loose ends.IMG_1624
  6. I kept doing this until I had a friendly whale and a lovely bowl of petunias!

Because these plaques are fairly small and the end product is not too heavy, I can easily secure these to my wall with non-damaging adhesive strips, which makes this the perfect dorm/apartment décor!

“I wonder if it will be friends with me?
And the rest, after a sudden wet thud, was silence.”
– Douglas Adams

__


Leave a Reply

